August Monthly Transformation Update

August 1st                               164.2 lbs

August 31st                            164.8 lbs

August Weight Loss              +.6 lbs

Highest Weight                      284 lbs

Weight Loss to Date              -119.2 lbs

Comment: For the past three months my weight has been steady at 164. I have been debating with myself if I am done with weight loss or do I have more to go.

On the pro side of being done:

I am pleased with how I look. I no longer identify myself as an overweight person.

I feel great. I have lots of energy to do all the things I want to do.

It appears that I am able to maintain this weight. I don’t feel deprived in my eating.

I don’t feel like I have the same level of motivation I had when actively losing weight.

I like the thought of being “done” as it has been a long journey.

On the flip side:

My BMI is 26.5 so I am in the overweight category.

I need to improve my eating and exercise habits.

In terms of eating, or calories in, I aim to eat about 1500 calories a day. I have many days at that count, some lower, and some higher and that is all good, but I still struggle with overeating on other days, and those days would be quite high in calories.

In terms of exercise, or calories out, I am much more active than I used to be but I am not consistent and I do not exercise often enough.

So now what?

I do want to be lower in weight as I do not want to be in the overweight category.

If I don’t work on the final steps in fine-tuning my calories in and calories out, my long-term success is at risk.

I am very close to where I need to be for optimal health, so it doesn’t make sense to stop.

Final Verdict:

Time to come off my three-month hiatus and continue on!!

Before I end this post I want to share my biggest achievement for the month….I am able to do full length push-ups!!

When I started this diet I also started doing some core exercises, one of them being push-ups. I started with standing push-ups against the wall, then graduated to knee push-ups, and now I’m able to do the full version.

I had hoped to post my video of me doing 12(!) push-ups but this forum doesn’t accommodate videos so I have posted pictures of me at the top and bottom of the push-up.  I still have to work on my form and get a bit lower down but I am very pleased that I’m able to do them. Not bad for a 58 year old female!
Push up 1

Push up 2

6 thoughts on “August Monthly Transformation Update

  1. Hey There Margaret … How about you let your body get used to the NEW YOU … You’ve lost over 119 pounds but your BMI is still too high … how many points too high? 5, 10 … What was your BMI when you started this endeavor? You do feel good, you are exercising more … maybe not as much as you should but still more than before … I think the BMI will come down and a few more pounds will come off in the next few months. Right now, you are in a size 14 … don’t get stuck on that size … I think even a size 12 is feasible but not right this minute. My own problem this past week or so is that I gained enough to overtake my last TOPS weight in (+ 1.6 lbs) and I know why … I had too many good things to eat and not enough walking … I would like to try cycling again but I worry about my shoulders … I separated the right one a year ago and I believe I did some serious muscle strain to the left one when I fell chasing a cat in the back yard! The cat got away of course. Remember fat changes to muscle before it disappears and muscle is heavier than fat.
    Even though the new medication is working … stabilizing and lowering my blood glucose levels … it does not work by itself … I still HAVE TO EXERCISE … and exercise on its own does not work either. I have to do both … the new medication and the walking. I don’t swim and have not cycled this year but I still can walk and I need to do 4 to 5 thousand steps twice a day. Mind you, if I get a whack of steps in
    in the morning I can usually scrounge up what’s missing just walking around home but that doesn’t translate into another 4 or 5 thousand steps (only 1 or 2 thousand).
    Your diet coach is right … this is a LIFE SENTENCE … OR COMMITMENT … take your pick … I believe that you would still benefit from seeing that fellow … especially … for exercise involvement … you are still planning on a walking tour in Europe next year with Sanford … right? My goal right now, is to lose the +1.6 pounds that I gained before TOPS nite on Wednesday … I do have my work cut out for me.
    Yesterday, I did Birthday Supper for our oldest Tracy … we had baby potatoes (6 = 100 calories), a veggie salad made with beets, celery root, and 4 cubed potatoes, carrots, roast chicken, gravy and cranberry sauce (canned), and Jeannie’s Banana Cake for the Birthday Girl. My slice of cake was the smallest … I forgot to serve the buns I bought but the chicken, dressing and gravy were super! The veggies were good too.
    Has any of this helped? Keep up the good work and keep your eyes on the prize … walking in Europe with Sanford!
    Anna

    Like

    1. Hi Anna, thanks for the comments.

      My BMI has changed a lot through this journey. When I started it was at 43.6, which put me in the morbidly obese category, and now it is at 26.5, which is overweight. A healthy weight BMI is in the range of 18.5 to 24.9. I would need to weigh 154 to have a BMI of 24.9, so I am essentially only 10 lbs away.

      I still work very closely with my diet coach. Although I do not mention him much in my blogs, I speak with him constantly and he truly keeps me going and gets me refocused when necessary. I feel I have had a break for the last three months and have decided (with my coach’s encouragement) to now take my weight down the rest of the way. Not sure yet what the final endpoint will be, but I’m continuing the journey down.

      Sorry to hear about your weight gain, just don’t let it get to you and allow it to overshadow all the good you have accomplished up till now. You have several months of positive changes behind you. Consider it just a blip in your journey and before you know it you will be closing in on 20lbs down and getting another TOPS hat.

      Take care.

      Like

  2. Hi Maggie,

    I really like reading your blogs, but I have never written to you. I’m not sure if this is how to write to you. Congratulations on losing all that weight and you certainly don’t look overweight; maybe you can give yourself a break. Just keep doing the exercises and eat healthy meals.

    All the best, Lian

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

    1. Hi Lian,

      You’re my first friend from Australia to comment, welcome.

      I really feel like I have had a break the last few months and now I’m finally ready to tackle the weight loss portion again. The reason I was struggling with continuing is because the break was nice, but in the end it is not where I want to stay weight-wise. So here I go again.

      Take care, Maggie

      Like

  3. Congratulations on being able to do the full push up! Only in my dreams could I do that. But then, I hate exercise so it was likely my nightmare, instead!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

