50K Bike Ride

My most favourite aerobic exercise is biking. Just this month, I have started to do 50K bike rides. Yesterday, was my second one for September.

Bike route

At first I was hoping to find someone to bike with me but now that I have been out a few times, I find that I prefer to do these alone.  While I’m biking, I like the solitude and I like being left alone with my thoughts. I enjoy heading out the door with a vague route in mind and then adjusting, as I please, as I discover new bike paths. And finally, I like to challenge myself to either maintain a speed or to go faster and not have to consider how fast anyone else is going.

You have to cover a lot of Winnipeg to get in 50K. Today I started from my home in the North End and went through Point Douglas, St. Boniface, and Windsor Park to get to Lagimodiere and Fermor, then biked up Lagimodiere to Bishop Grandin and went all the way to Route 90. I stopped at a nice shady picnic table for a snack before continuing on through River Heights, Wolsley area and back to the North End.

Bike trail at the edge of Windsor Park, running along Fermor Avenue.
Bike trail at the edge of Windsor Park, running along Fermor Avenue.
The Mint as seen from the bike trail along Lagimodiere  Blvd.
The Mint as seen from the bike trail along Lagimodiere Blvd.
Bike path along Bishop Grandin Blvd.
Bike path along Bishop Grandin Blvd.
Banana break at the halfway point.
Banana break at the halfway point.

When I bike I use an app that tracks my route, biking speed, the number of calories burned and my heart rate (I wear a heart rate monitor). Stats for my ride; 53.6K, average heart rate of 114, and I burned 1072 calories!

I have two more 50K routes planned. I hope to get them in before the snow starts.

3 thoughts on “50K Bike Ride

    1. I’ve actually been biking for many, many years. I did not go from 0 to 50 K just since losing weight. My partner, Sanford, and I have biked together for years, often in the 20 – 40 K range. As I’ve been dropping weight and increasing my fitness, these longer distances are now becoming possible for me. Most important though, is that I love to bike ride, so in that sense, it is something I am motivated to work at and do.

      Like

  1. Well, Margaret … you can take some of the credit for my weight loss but a 50 K Bike Ride!!! I know what you mean by the solitude and being with your own thoughts … also your speed would be what you like … good practice for Europe next year!
    Please keep safety in mind when you are out there … I don’t worry about traffic as much as I worry about lurkers! Please be careful.
    I have thought about taking the bike out of the garage but that’s as far as I’ve gone. However, I am faithful mostly for my steps and my Garmin Activity Tracker … no comparison I know!
    Anna

    Like

Leave a Reply

