Bike Intervals

One of the things I do to improve my biking efficiency is intervals. The purpose of intervals is to improve my power, speed and strength. In other words, doing bike intervals will help me to pedal faster for longer before fatigue sets in.

I do the intervals on Garbage Hill in the west end of the city. I bike up the hill as fast and as hard as I can three times with sufficient rest in between each ride up.   I monitor my time, speed and heart rate for each attempt.

I have a specific point that I consider my start and a specific point I consider my stop. The distance is 0.35K.

I note the time at the start point and the time at the end point. At this moment it takes me approximately 1 minute 20 seconds to bike up the hill.

I note the speed at which I travel up the hill. It drops as I go up and I am recording the speed near the end of the stretch, which presently is 14.7K per hour.

Finally, I note my heart rate, which is highest at the end of the stretch, and it presently is around 154 beats per minute.

I rest for 8 minutes between each attempt.

I look forward to reaping the benefits of this training on my 50K bike rides.

View from the bottom of Garbage Hill.  It doesn't seem like such a big hill from this view, but it is tough to get up.
View from the bottom of Garbage Hill. It doesn’t seem like such a big hill from this view, but it is tough to get up.
View from the top.
View from the top.
5 thoughts on “Bike Intervals

  1. Way to go Margaret … today we walked 3.4 km and I had to stop and rest for about 5 min because my legs were tired … if I tried Garbage Hill I would DIE!!!
    I haven’t walked a whole lot from around the 18th of September (my fall). I’ve upped the walking the last few days and was rewarded with a loss of 1 lb today at TOPS. I was part of a group of 6 that won pledge pot (3.60 each). Our weight loss winner this week was Lil, followed by Darlene C. Neil, lost the most but he did not stay for the meeting … but he is doing really, really good.
    That’s all for now.
    Anna

    Like

Leave a Reply

